Nine Moscow railway stations: where to go by train

Nine Moscow railway stations: where to go by train
Some of the city's railway terminals offer connections to nearby Moscow Region towns, while others have trains to Nice or even to Vladivostok. Learn more about Moscow’s major railway stations in this article.

There are nine railway terminals in Moscow: Belorussky, Kazansky, Kievsky, Kursky, Leningradsky, Paveletsky, Rizhsky, Savyolovsky, and Yaroslavsky.

Commuter trains depart from all of these railway stations, while there are no long-distance trains at Savyolovsky Railway Station. All of the railway terminals, except Rizhsky and Savyolovsky, are connected by the Moscow Metro Circle Line.

Three railway stations square (Komsomolskaya Square) got its informal name for its proximity to three railway terminals: Kazansky, Leningradsky and Yaroslavsky. Kalanchyovskaya railway platform is also  near the square. Aeroexpress trains to Vnukovo, Domodedovo and Sheremetyevo airports leave from Kievsky, Paveletsky and Belorussky railway terminals. Yaroslavsky and Kazansky railway stations are the busiest.

Belorussky Railway Station

Belorussky Railway Stations located on Tverskaya Zastava Square near similarly-named metro stations on the Circle and Zamoskvoretskaya lines. Belorussky Railway Station serves long-distance trains to western and south-western destinations.

Commuter trains go to Borodino, Usovo, Zvenigorod, Odintsovo, Golitsyno, Mozhaisk, and there are trains for the Savyolovo and Kursk lines, the Aeroexpress train to Sheremetyevo airport, as well as long distance trains to Minsk-Arkhangelsk, Minsk-Novosibirsk, and Brest-Novosibirsk.

Belorussky Railway Terminal is also a door to Europe: long-distance trains depart for Berlin, Warsaw, Prague, Basel, Bratislava, Vienna, Munich, Paris, Frankfurt, Amsterdam, and Nice.

Kazansky Railway Station

Kazansky Railway Station is located on Komsomolskaya Square. The station can be reached from the Komsomolskaya metro station on both the Circle and Sokolnicheskaya lines.

Kazansky Railway Station is one of the largest in Europe. It serves three directions — eastern, southern and southeastern; as a result many passengers pass through it. There are fast and standard passenger trains, as well as commuter trains. Destinations include Voronezh, Novorossiisk, Ryazan, Nizhny Novgorod, Adler, Vladikavkaz, Grozny, Kazan, Anapa, Samara, Penza, Saransk, Cheliabinsk and Magnitogorsk.

Commuter trains run in two directions: to Cherusti (eastern destinations) and to Ryazan (southeastern destinations).

In addition, Kazansky Railway Station is one of the city’s landmarks and one of the most famous works by the architect Alexei Shchusev.

Yaroslavsky Railway Station

Yaroslavsky Railway Station is also on Komsomolskaya Square. It is the largest terminal in terms of traffic capacity, serving about 300 trains daily.

This station connects the capital with the Moscow Region towns of Mytishchi, Pushkino, Sergiyev Posad, Korolyov, Sofrino, Aleksandrov, Fryazino and Monino. There are Sputnik express trains, which can reach Mytischi in 18 minutes.

From Yaroslavsky Railway Station long distance trains leave for Vladivostok, which is six and half days away. Other long distance trains go to Yekaterinburg, Krasnoyarsk, Khabarovsk, and even Beijing.

Leningradsky Railway Station

The first Moscow railway station, Leningradsky, was built in 1849. At first, it was called Nikolayevsky, then Oktyabrsky. Leningradsky Railway Station is an exact copy of Moskovsky Railway Station in St Petersburg; it is an architectural landmark.

Everything you need to know about railway stations in Moscow

Leningradsky Railway Station is located on three railway stations square (Komsomolskaya Square). Trains leave for St Petersburg, Veliky Novgorod, Pskov, Murmansk, Petrozavodsk, Helsinki, Tallinn, and other cities. Commuter trains go to Zelenograd, Solnechnogorsk, Klin, Konakovo, and Tver.

Kievsky Railway Station

Moscow’s largest railway terminal, Kievsky, is at Kievskaya Square and has entrances to Kievskaya metro stations on the Circle, Filyovskaya and Arbatsko-Pokrovskaya lines.

Commuter trains run to Solnechnaya, Lesnoy Gorodok, Aprelevka, Bekasovo, Kresty, Naro-Fominsk, Maloyaroslavets and Kaluga. Aeroexpress trains also run to Vnukovo airport. Long-distance trains go to Bryansk, Kiev, the cities of Moldavia, as well as to Rome, Istanbul, Athens, Vienna, Sofia, Budapest, Prague, Bucharest, and Belgrade.

Kursky Railway Station

Moskva-Passazhirskaya-Kurskaya railway station is near Valovaya Street. It can be reached on foot from Kurskaya metro stations on the Circle and Arbatsko-Pokrovskaya lines as well as from the Chkalovskaya metro station on the Lyublinsko-Dmitrovskaya Line.

Commuter trains go to the south to Tsaritsyno, Podolsk, Lvovskaya, Chekhov, Serpukhov, Tarusa and Tula. There are also express trains to Tula and Oryol. Long-distance trains leave for Oryol, Kursk, Belgorod, Kharkov, Donetsk, Rostov-on-Don, and the towns of north Caucasus.

On the Gorky line, commuter trains run to Reutov, Balashikha, Zheleznodorozhny, Fryazevo, Noginsk, Zakharovo, Pavlovsky Posad, Elektrogorsk, Krutoye and Petushki. There are also express trains to Vladimir and trains (including Strizh and Lastochka fast trains) to Nizhny Novgorod.

Paveletsky Railway Station

Paveletsky Railway Station, located on the similarly-named square, connects Moscow with the Middle and Lower Volga region, Kazakhstan, Central Asia, and the Caucasus. There are commuter trains to Belye Stolby, Stupino, Kashira , Uzunovo, as well as the Aeroexpress train to Domodedovo Airport.

From here it is possible to change to Paveletskaya metro stations on the Circle and Zamoskvoretskaya lines.

Rizhsky Railway Station

Rizhsky Railway Station is located on Rizhskaya Square near the Rizhskaya metro station on the Kaluzhsko-Rizhskaya Line. The building is constructed in the old Russian style; it consists of three towers, which are interconnected by covered walkways at the ground floor level.

There are only three long-distance destinations from Rizhsky railway terminal: Riga (Latvia), Velikiye Luki, and Pskov. Commuter trains go to Nakhabino, Dedovsk, Novoyerusalimskaya (the town of Istra), Rumyantsevo, Volokolamsk and Shakhovskaya. It is possible to change here to Rzhevskaya railway platform.

Savyolovsky Railway Station

Savyolovsky Railway Station is located in northern Moscow near the similarly-named metro station on the Serpukhovsko-Timiryazevskaya Line. There are trains to Dubna and Kimry. Commuter trains go to Dolgoprudny, Lobnya, Dmitrov, and Taldom. It is the only railway terminal without long-distance destinations.

Tickets for commuter trains can be bought at the terminal ticket offices as well as in ticket vending machines. Information about travel documents for long-distance destinations can be found on the Russian Railways site: