City to open 16 metro stations next year

City to open 16 metro stations next year
Photo: Photo by the Mayor and Moscow Government Press Service. Yevgeny Samarin
Sixteen new stations will open on the metro’s Third Interchange Circuit (TIC), as well as on the Kalininsko-Solntsevskaya, Lyublinsko-Dmitrovskaya and Zamoskvoretskaya lines.

The Moscow Metro will open 16 new stations next year, said Andrei Bochkaryov, Head of the City Department of Construction. “In 2017, we will receive 16 new metro stations. We intend to launch the first section of the Third Interchange Circuit (TIC) with five stations in early 2017,” he noted.

Next year, metro trains will also start running on a seven-station section of the Kalininsko-Solntsevskaya Line towards Rasskazovka. The city will also complete the northern section of the Lyublinsko-Dmitrovskaya Line, with the Okruzhnaya, Verkhniye Likhobory and Seligerskaya stations.

We are now preparing to extend this line, Mr Bochkaryov noted. “According to preliminary estimates, we will open two more stations on the Lyublinsko-Dmitrovskaya Line after Seligerskaya in late 2018 or in early 2019,” Mr Bochkaryov added.

Khovrino station on the Zamoskvoretskaya Line is also set to open next year. “We are planning to open this line’s Belomorskaya station in 2018,” Mr Bochkaryov explained.

He recalled that five new metro stations had opened in Moscow since early 2016, including Butyrskaya, Fonvizinskaya and Petrovsko-Razumovskaya on the Lyublinsko-Dmitrovskaya Line, and Salaryevo and Rumyantsevo on the Sokolnicheskaya Line.

“We are almost ready to open three more stations on the Kalininsko-Solntsevskaya Line, including Minskaya, Lomonosovsky Prospekt and Ramenki,” Mr Bochkaryov added.

Earlier, Deputy Moscow Mayor for Urban Development and Construction Marat Khusnullin said the city’s construction sector would complete 16 kilometres of metro lines before the year is out, an all-time high in the Moscow Metro’s 80-year history.